Taiwanese Bank Hack: Another suspect remanded

Limited access to Parliament Rd from tomorrow

Thirimanne scores 62 as Sri Lanka slump to 173

New Zealand to hold referendum on legalising cannabis

No Three-Wheeler job for those under 35

Curtain closes on another World Cup


Australia overwhelmed New Zealand to win the World Cup for a fifth time at the MCG.

New Zealand were bowled out for 183.

Grant Elliott resisted with 83, while Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Johnson and James Faulkner shared eight wickets.

Australia rarely looked troubled, sealing a seven-wicket win in 33.1 overs, with retiring captain Michael Clarke scoring 74 and Steve Smith 56 not out.

An elated yet emotional skipper Michael Clarke commended and praised his team’s efforts and didn’t forget to pat the New Zealanders on the back as well.

Clarke also dedicated Australia’s triumph to the late Phillip Hughes.

Batsman Hughes lost his life in November when he suffered a serious head injury after being struck by a bouncer during a Sheffield Shield game in Sydney.

Speaking at the conclusion of the match he insisted the entire team will “celebrate hard” in memory of their former teammate.

Losing New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum said he had no regrets after “one hell of a ride” at the World Cup came to an end.

New Zealand had won all eight of their previous matches in this World Cup, including a one-wicket defeat of Australia in the pool phase.

McCullum said the team played some outstanding cricket, but ran into an outstanding Australia team who continue to set the way in world cricket.

James Faulkner dismissed New Zealand’s Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott and Corey Anderson in quick succession, triggering a collapse of 7-33.

It was Faulkner, renowned for his clinical ability to finish games with the bat, that took the treasured of man of the match title.

The all-rounder admitted to fearing the worst when he felt a twang at the WACA and trudged off the ground in the tri-series final.

Meanwhile, Michelle Starc who guided the home team to victory said, the best team won the ODI showpiece.

The 20 million Sri Lankans were represented at the Grand finale with former captain Ranjan Madugalla officiating as the match referee, while 1996 World Champion, Kumar Dharmesene became the only player in the cricketing history to be a part of a ODI World Cup final as a player and as an official.

India also may not have made it to the World Cup 2015 final, but two Indians did. Sachin Tendulkar and the International Cricket Council chairman, N. Srinivasan were prominent faces in the presentation party in Melbourne tonight.

Tendulkar handed over the Man of the Match and Man of the Series trophies to Australia’s James Faulkner and Mitchell Starc, respectively.

Former BCCI president Srinivasan presented the World Cup to the winning captain Michael Clarke.

All in all it was a disappointing end for New Zealand who were brilliant with the bat, ball and in the field throughout the World Cup.

But the day and night belonged to the Australians who once again were crowned as the best one-day team in the world.

few clouds
humidity: 88%
wind: 2m/s SSE
H 26 • L 26
Weather from OpenWeatherMap