Financial allocation for meals of IDPs increased

Purchase of vehicles for ministries halted

Death toll due to inclement weather at 188

Janaka Bandara removed as Chairman of Dambulla DDC

Death toll due to inclement weather at 183

K Palaniswami new Tamil Nadu CM


Edappadi K Palaniswami, the leader of the AIADMK Legislature Party, took oath as Tamil Nadu’s 29th Chief Minister this evening.

He heads a 31-member Cabinet.

He was being administered oath of office by the Tamil Nadu Governor Vidyasagar Rao.

Except O. Panneerselvam and K. Pandiarajan, Palaniswami has retained the outgoing Council of Ministers.

Palaniswami has been given 15 days to prove his majority.

He took over as the leader of AIADMK Legislature Party from VK Sasikala, on Tuesday, after she was convicted in a corruption case and ordered to be imprisoned for four years.

She surrendered yesterday at the Special Court in Bengaluru and was jailed.

Earlier, Tamil Nadu Governor Vidyasagar Rao invited Palaniswami to form the government and gave him two weeks to prove his majority in the Assembly.