Customs seizes narcotics worth Rs.12 million

DMC warns of possible floods in low lying areas

Rathupaswala incident : Brigadier Anura Gunawardene remanded

SLFP MP’s considering joining JO – Ranjith De Zoysa

President calls for action against those who disrupt peace

AusvSL 1st T20: Sri Lanka opts field in Melbourne


Sri Lanka have won the toss and elected to field first against Australia in the 1st Twenty20 International in Melbourne a short while ago.

Experienced Upul Tharanga who is leading the Lankans for the first time in a T20 attributed his decision to overcast conditions at the MCG.

Sri Lanka also handed an international cap for paceman Vikum Sanjaya who impressed during the tour game against Australia’s Prime Minister’s XI on Wednesday.

The visitors will be represented by Niroshan Dickwella, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Asela Gunarathne, Lankshan Sandakan, Chamara Kapugedara, Dilshan Munaweera, Seekuge Prasanna and Milinda Siriwardene.

Meanwhile, Australia have handed debut for Michael Klinger, Billiy Stanlake and Ashton Turner.