Aussie women thrash Sri Lanka by 9 wickets

2019-10-09 at 16:43

Australia registered their 18th consecutive ODI win – thrashing Sri Lanka by nine wickets – as they sealed the ODI series with a 3-0 margin in Brisbane on Wednesday (October 9).

They went past their own record of most consecutive win – a feat they achieved with 17 wins between 1997 and 1999. They also sealed the ICC Women’s ODI Championship, their 34 points well beyond what second-placed England can achieve.

The win was orchestrated by the bowlers and polished off by Alyssa Healy’s third ODI ton. Megan Schutt and Georgia Wareham bagged two wickets each to restrict Sri Lanka to 195 for 8. Healy then smashed 112 off 76 and scored 159 for the opening wicket win Rachel Haynes (63).

Australia raced off the blocks as Healy smashed a 31-ball half-century. The openers scored 159 in just 22.3 overs to shut the door on the visitors. Healy got to her ton off 71 balls before the hosts sealed the chase in 26.5 overs.

Earlier in the day, Sri Lanka’s total was built on Chamari Athapaththu’s 103 off 124. At 68 for 1 in the 18th over, Sri Lanka were moving steadily but Healy ran out Harshitha Madavi. That started a collapse as they soon slipped to 136 for 6. Ama Kanchana and Oshadi Ranasinghe made 17 each to give some lower-order resistance.

Athapaththu was Sri Lanka’s most successful batter and ended the tour with 289 runs from three T20Is and three ODIs at an average of close to 50.