Curfew imposed in several provinces lifted until noon

2020-03-26 at 06:00

Curfew imposed to the Central, North-Central, Eastern, Uva, Sabaragamuwa and Southern Provinces and the Kurunegala District has been lifted.

Curfew will be imposed to the same areas at noon.

Meanwhile, Curfew imposed to the Puttalam, Vavuniya, Mannar, Kilinochchi, Mullaitivu and Jaffna Districts is scheduled to be lifted at 6 tomorrow morning and will be re-imposed at noon.

Curfew imposed in the Colombo, Gampaha and Kalutara Districts from 2pm yesterday will be in place until further notice.

The government initially imposed the island-wide curfew on Friday in a bid to support the efforts carried-out by health and law enforcement agencies to contain the spread of the novel coronavirus in the country.

Following further development, the government declared the Western Province as a high-risk zone and imposed additional restrictions.

Meanwhile, the government has announced that it has prohibited individuals from travelling between districts in order to contain the spread of the coronavirus.

Deputy Inspector General of Police Ajith Rohana stressed that travelling between districts is prohibited even when curfew is lifted.

Transportation of foreign nationals have also been banned until further notice.

However, the transportation of essential commodities and vegetables will be permitted even during the curfew.

Individuals heading to the Airport and those part of Port operations will also be permitted to commute during the curfew.

According to the communiqué issued by the President’s Media Division those involved in the agriculture industry and certain trade will also be allowed to function even if curfew is in place.

Approved essential services, such as health sector workers, will be allowed through, under regulations of the Quarantine Ordinance.