Mahinda Rajapaksa-SL’s new Prime Minister

2019-11-21 at 17:58

Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in as the country’s new Prime Minister today before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa. The swearing in ceremony took place at the Presidential Secretariat.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena, Former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, dignitaries and several others were present at the occasion.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa also assumed duties officially this evening at the Office of the Prime Minister.

Prime Minister Rajapaksa was first elected to Parliament in 1970 and served as Prime Minister from the 6th of April 2004 until his victory at the 2005 Presidential Election.

He was sworn in as President for his first six-year term on the 19th of November 2005.

He was re-elected for a second term on the 27th of January 2010.

Prime Minister Rajapaksa has held many portfolios including Minister of Labour and Vocational Training, Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development and Ports and Shipping.

ultricies odio ipsum libero. leo. dolor ante. Praesent eget ut quis, sed