Who will be the next President of Sri Lanka?

2019-10-08 at 00:01

The 2019 Presidential Election will be held on the 16th of November to elect the Seventh Executive President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

Election Day

The election will be worked-off between 7am and 5pm on Saturday the 16th of November, across 22 administrative districts.


A total of 35 persons are in the race to replace Maithripala Sirisena as the county’s new President.

The nominations for the Presidential Polls were accepted on the 7th of October between 9am and 11am at the Election Secretariat.

Although, 41 persons including a number of Parliamentarians placed deposits to contest the election, only 35 filed nominations before members of the Election Commission.

Sajith Premadasa contesting under the New Democratic Front ticket of the Swan symbol, Gotabaya Rajapaksa under the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna ticket of the symbol of the Flower bud and Anura Kumara Dissanayaka competing under the National Movement for People’s Power ticket of the symbol of the Compass are considered as front-runners at the 2019 Presidential Election.


The Electoral Register for 2018 will be used at the election with a total of 15,992,096 electors eligible to cast their ballot.


The issuance of temporary Identity Cards for the 2019 Presidential Election will commence on Friday the 18th of October.

Additional Election Commissioner Rasika Peries said the Identity Cards will be issued from relevant District Election Offices.

Individuals not in possession of a National Identity Card, Passport, Driver’s License or the Elders ID will be issued temporary Identity Cards during this period.

Temporary IDs will be issued till the 9th of November.

The Additional Election Commissioner said the temporary IDs will be taken over by the officer-in-charge of the polling centres subsequent to casting vote.

The temporary ID can be obtained following a certification by the relevant Grama Seva officer or a certification by a Superintendent for estate workers.

The certifications must be handed over to the nearest Election office in order to obtain the temporary Identity Card.

Postal voting

Marking of Postal ballots for the 2019 Presidential Election will take place under three stages.

Postal voting for the 2019 Presidential Election is scheduled to take place on the 30th and 31st of October, 3rd, 4th and 7th of November.

A total of 659,030 state employees, including Police and Tri-Forces personnel are eligible to cast postal ballots.

The postal voting process is slated to be worked-off at nearly 1,700 polling centres.

Election Observers

Three main election monitoring organisations in Sri Lanka have decided to increase the number of observers to be deployed at the 2019 Presidential Election.

When inquired by NewsRadio, Election monitoring bodies noted that they are compelled to increase the number of monitors owing to new challenges including the increase in use of social media by Presidential candidates and their supporters.

Accordingly, the People’s Action for Free and Fair Elections will deploy 10,000 election observers for the upcoming polls.

Meanwhile, the Centre for Monitoring Election Violence has announced it will deploy approximately 5,200 while the Campaign for Free & Fair Elections is expected to deploy 7,500 personnel to monitor the Eighth Presidential Election scheduled for 16th of November.

The Election Commission said over 100 foreign representatives will arrive in the country to observe the 2019 Presidential Election.

Around 20 observers from the Commonwealth, 60 from the European Union and 25 representatives from the South Asian region will observe the 2019 Presidential Polls.

Social Media

The Election Commission said discussions have been held with social media giants Facebook, YouTube and Google, over hate speech related to the 2019 Presidential election.

Chairman of the Election Commission Mahinda Deshapriya said the circulation of misinformation was also discussed.

The Elections Chief said the Commission has held discussions with Facebook , YouTube and Google representatives in a bid to combat the spread of hate speech and the circulation of ‘fake news.’


The results of the Presidential Election is expected to be released under several stages, with polling divisions, districts and overall results, publicized after the ratification of the Election Commission.

Chairman of the Election Commission Mahinda Deshapriya noted that he is expecting to release all results pertaining to the 2019 Presidential Election before the 18th of November.

justo sit diam libero mattis ultricies Aliquam risus sem, vel,