2018/19 ‘Inter-Club Rugby League gets underway today

2018-11-09 at 13:45

The 2018/19 ‘A’ Division Inter-Club Rugby League season will get underway today, with Police Sports club taking on Navy Sports Club at the Police Park from 4pm.

The opening round games of the eight-team tournament will conclude on the 23rd of December.

The premier local club rugby tournament will also have a new addition this season, with a knockout round slated for top four teams competing for the Cup Title while the bottom four clubs will contest for the Plate Title.

According to Sri Lanka Rugby, the second round games will be worked-off from the 4th of January to the 17th of February while the Super Round of the tournament will kick-start on the 22nd of February.

The Grand finale of the 2018/19 ‘A’ Division Inter-club Rugby League tournament will be worked-off on the 3rd of March 2019.

Defending Champions Kandy Sports Club will once again enter the tournament as favourites with CH & FC, Navy SC and CR & FC expected provide with some stiff resistance to the glamour boys of local rugby scene.

Meanwhile, former Champions Havelock Sports Club will take on Army Sports Club in the second game of the day at Havelock Park under floodlights.

Tomorrow, archrivals CR & FC and CH & FC will battle it out for supremacy at Longdon place while Kandy SC will commence its Title defence against Air Force Sports Club in Ratmalana at 4pm tomorrow.