EU recognises govt’s steps to mitigate COVID-19

2020-06-30 at 09:22

The European Union and resident Ambassadors of member states in Colombo have recognised the successful efforts of the Sri Lankan government to contain the spread of COVID-19.

The delegation of the EU to Sri Lanka and the Maldives issuing a clarification on lifting the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the EU said with the process of lifting internal border controls well underway, the EU is now preparing for the gradual reopening to travel from outside the EU.

The statement said the decision to lift travel restrictions with non-EU countries is the prerogative of EU Member States and the Schengen Associated Countries.

It noted that, Member States and Associated countries have been working together to agree an initial positive list of countries with which borders could be reopened soon on the basis of objective criteria, including the epidemiological situation in the given country and possibility to seek reciprocity with the country concerned.

The delegation added that the short list at the moment is limited to 15 countries.

They claimed that the absence of a country on the list should therefore not be considered as being blacklisted.

The statement said the list will be regularly updated and revised to ensure that further countries can be added as soon as the situation allows.