President Gotabaya Rajapaksa assumes duties

2019-11-19 at 10:58

Gotabaya Rajapaksa officially assumed duties as the Seventh Executive President of Sri Lanka, at the Presidential Secretariat this morning.

President Rajapaksa was accorded with a Military guard of honour before he entered the Secretariat building. NewsRadio correspondent said following religious observances, President Rajapaksa assumed duties before the Secretary to the President.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena and several other Members of Parliament were also in attendance during the ceremony.

Gotabaya Rajapaksa, who was elected as the Seventh Executive President of Sri Lanka, was sworn-in as the Head of State yesterday. The swearing in ceremony was held in the premises of the Ruwanweli Maha Seya in Anuradhapura.

Gotabaya Rajapaksa took oaths before Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya as the country’s new President. Gotabaya Rajapaksa, who contested the 2019 Presidential Election, under the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna ticket, was elected the President after obtaining 52.25% votes at Saturday’s election.

He won 16 districts and secured 6,924,255 votes. Sajith Premadasa, who contested the 2019 Presidential Election from the New Democratic Front ticket, only received 41.99% of the votes.