Gotabaya Rajapaksa to assume duties as President

2019-11-19 at 06:01

Newly elected President Gotabaya Rajapaksa will officially assume duties today at the Presidential Secretariat.

Gotabaya Rajapaksa, who was elected as the Seventh Executive President of Sri Lanka, was sworn-in as the Head of State yesterday.

The swearing in ceremony was held in the premises of the Ruwanweli Maha Seya in Anuradhapura. Gotabaya Rajapaksa took oaths before Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya as the country’s new President.

Gotabaya Rajapaksa, who contested the 2019 Presidential Election, under the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna ticket, was elected the President after obtaining 52.25% votes at Saturday’s election.

He won 16 districts and secured 6,924,255 votes. Sajith Premadasa, who contested the 2019 Presidential Election from the New Democratic Front ticket, only received 41.99% of the votes.

Meanwhile, PB Jayasundara is expected to assume duties as the Secretary to the President today.