Govt defeats JVP’s No-Confidence Motion

2019-07-11 at 18:51

The United National Party-led government today defeated the No-Confidence Motion filed by the JVP in Parliament by 27 votes.

A total of 119 Members of Parliament voted against the Motion while 92 MPs voted in favour.

NewsRadio Lobby correspondent said the UNP, constituent parties of the United National Front, a group of United People’s Freedom Alliance and Tamil National Alliance Parliamentarians voted against the Motion.

The JVP which presented the No-Confidence Motion, the so-called Joint Opposition, and a separate group of the UPFA voted in favour of the Motion.

The Motion against the government was filed by the JVP in May, citing 13 facts including the government’s failure to prevent or minimise the damage of the Easter Sunday attacks and their inability to ensure the safety of the public.

Speaking during the debate, JVP Parliamentarian Bimal Ratnayake accused the present government of failing to prevent the Easter Sunday attacks and claimed that the country is yet to return to normalcy after the death of scores of people on the 21st of April.

Joining the debate, Parliamentarian Bandula Gunawardana said the present government should be overthrown immediately while accusing the United National Party-led administration of working against the people of Sri Lanka.

However, United People’s Freedom Alliance Parliamentarian AHM Fowzie said the government was unaware of warnings of an impending attack.

He added the Prime Minister and the government cannot be blamed for the April attacks.

Addressing the House, Leader of the Tamil National Alliance Parliamentarian R Sampanthan noted that all factions should unite to defeat the scourge of terrorism and develop the country.