Sri Lanka names T20 squad against South Africa

2019-03-14 at 19:26

Legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay, seam bowlers Suranga Lakmal and Asitha Fernando, and batsman Sadeera Samarawickrama have all been named in Sri Lanka’s T20 squad for the forthcoming three-match T20 series against South Africa.

Allrounder Dasun Shanaka, meanwhile, has been dropped.

Also included in the squad are some of the less-experienced players currently in the one-day outfit.

Opener Avishka Fernando and batsmen Priyamal Perera and Angelo Perera have all been picked.

There is no room, however, for Oshada Fernando, who had been especially impressive in the Test leg of the ongoing tour.

Dinesh Chandimal, who had been in the T20 squad in New Zealand, and had recently top-scored in Sri Lanka’s club-based T20 tournament, has been omitted from this squad as well.

Several injured players were unavailable for selection for this squad. Angelo Mathews has not yet regained full fitness following his latest hamstring injury, Danushka Gunathilaka continues to suffer with a spine problem, while fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera has picked up another hamstring injury, just as he was recovering from the ankle complaint that had seen him leave the tour of Australia.

Kusal Perera’s hamstring injury, meanwhile, is expected to take up to nine weeks to recover from, and he is struggling to make it into the World Cup squad.

The T20 series begins in Cape Town on March 19.