Sri Lanka squad for the 2019 World Cup announced

2019-04-18 at 14:00

Batsman Lahiru Thirimanne, spin-bowling allrounders Milinda Siriwardana and Jeevan Mendis, and legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay have all been picked in Sri Lanka’s World Cup squad, despite not having played an ODI since at least 2017.

Not selected, meanwhile, are wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella, offspinner Akila Dananjaya, openers Danushka Gunathilaka and Upul Tharanga, as well as Dinesh Chandimal, who was captain of the ODI team as recently as October.

The squad also features 21-year-old opening batsman Avishka Fernando, despite his modest tour of South Africa last month.

Nuwan Pradeep, who has been an infrequent presence in the ODI squad owing partly to injury, has been chosen as well.

Accordingly the full squad includes Dimuth Karunaratne, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Isuru Udana, Milinda Siriwardana, Avishka Fernando, Jeevan Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Pradeep and Suranga Lakmal.

Meanwhile Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Wanindu Hasaranga De Silva and Angelo Perera have been named as replacements.