Sri Lanka squad for the Windies tour announced

2021-02-22 at 23:08

A 20-man squad led by Dimuth Karunaratne has been named for the tour of West Indies.

The national Selectors have named the squad for the Twenty20 and One Day International series against West Indies.

Issuing a statement, Sri Lanka Cricket said the squad has been approved by the Minister of Youth and Sports and the team will leave for the West Indies tonight.

Paceman Suranga Lakmal has been named as a replacement for Lahiru Kumara who tested positive for COVID-19.

Seniors Dinesh Chandimal and Angelo Mathews have also been included in the touring party.

Additionally, Dasun Shanaka, Danushka Gunathilake, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella and Thisara Perera have also been named in the squad.

Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan and Dilshan Madushanka are the remaining members of the touring party.

During the West Indies tour, Sri Lanka will play three T20Is, three one day Internationals and two Test matches, under a bio-secure environment in Antigua from the 3rd of March to the 2nd of April.