Test team to land in South Africa today

2019-02-06 at 17:20

The National Test players, who were part of the two-match series in Australia, are scheduled to land in South Africa today.

The National cricket team is scheduled to play a two-match Test series in South Africa beginning on Wednesday.

The 17-man squad for the series was announced yesterday.

According to a Sri Lanka Cricket spokesman, the national players in Australia will directly fly to South Africa while the rest of the group will separately leave for Durban later this week.

The Test team will be led by Dimuth Karunaratne while Niroshan Dickwella has been appointed as his deputy.

However Dinesh Chandimal, Roshen Silva, Dilruwan Perera and several others who were part of the Australia series have been omitted from the squad. Kaushal Silva, Oshada Fernando and Angelo Perera who performed consistently during on-going domestic tournament have received call ups to face the Proteas.

The second match of the series will be worked off from the 21st of this month in Port Elizabeth.

Meanwhile, the opening game of the five match ODI series will be worked off from the 3rd of March while the Twenty20 series will begin on the 19th of March.

The six weeklong tour of South Africa will conclude on the 24th of March with a T20 game in Johannesburg.

Please follow and like us: