33 candidates lose election deposits

2019-11-19 at 14:55

The Election Commission says 33 candidates who contested the 2019 Presidential Election lost their respective deposits after failing to obtain a minimum of 12.5% of total votes cast at the November 16th Polls.

Secretary of the Commission HMTD Herath speaking to NewsRadio said the deposits of all candidates who failed to obtain this percentage were accordingly seized.

Only two candidates, Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Sajith Premadasa, were successful in garnering a percentage of more than 12.5% of votes.

Twenty candidates representing political parties contested the election while fifteen independent candidates also contested the election.

Candidates representing political parties placed a deposit of Rs.50,000 while an independent candidate placed a deposit of Rs.75,000.