Conduct of the Sri Lanka Medical Council probed

2020-09-16 at 17:00

Minister of Health Pavithra Wanniarachchi has appointed a five-member committee to investigate the conduct of the Sri Lanka Medical Council (SLMC).

The committee comprises of Professor Hemantha Perera, Professor Prasantha Wijesinghe, Dr. Anula Wijesundera, Dr. Maithri Chandraratne and Dr. Darshana Sirisena.

According to the Medical (Amendment) Act, the Minister of Health is the final decision-making authority of the SLMC.

Health Minister Pavithra Wanniarachchi said several complaints have been lodged with the Ministry pertaining to the recent conduct of the SLMC.

A majority of those complaints are pretraining to the independence of the SLMC and certain biased decisions taken by its members.

Accordingly, through the complaints the Health Minister has been requested to the take necessary steps and ensure the independence of the Sri Lanka Medical Council.

The committee will also conduct an investigation pertaining to the de-listing of three Russian State Universities from the SLMC’s approved list.

The Health Ministry in a statement said the committee will also investigate complaints on the delay to conduct the election to fill the vacant posts of the SLMC, approving the SLMC registration of doctors who have not met the basic qualification criteria, the delay to conduct the ERPM examination to evaluate the students who have completed medical education at overseas universities and holding inquires without complying with existing regulation.

The Health Minister has accordingly instructed the SLMC to conduct an investigation and compile a report with its findings about the complaints.

The five-member committee will also conduct an investigation and compile a separate investigative report.

Health Minister Pavithra Wanniarachchi will then analyse both reports and expected to introduce necessary reforms and restructure the SLMC.