Ex-President Sirisena absent during 20A vote

2020-10-22 at 21:41

Chairman of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party Former President Maithripala Sirisena was not present in Parliament during the vote on the proposed 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

Although all remaining SLFP MPs voted in favour of the 20th Constitutional, the former President who contested the General Election under the Sri Lanka Podujana Party ticket, did not attend today’s session.

Earlier today, former President Sirisena recorded a statement with the Presidential Commission of Inquiry probing the 2019 Easter Sunday attacks.

Meanwhile, the 20th Amendment to the Constitution was ratified in Parliament today with amendments, following the approval of a two thirds majority.

156 Parliamentarians supported the bill during the final vote of the 20th Constitutional Amendment while 65 MPs voted against it.

All constituent parties of the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, including the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, the National Freedom Front, the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya, the Ealam People’s Democratic Party, the Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal, and the National Congress voted in favour of the bill.

Meanwhile, Samagi Jana Balawegaya Parliamentarians Diana Gamage, MS Thowfeek, Mohamad Harees, Ishak Rahuman, Aravind Kumar and Faizal Cassim, Sri Lanka Muslim Congress MP Naseer Ahmed and AS Raheem of the National Muslim Alliance voted in favour of the 20th Amendment.

The remaining SJB members, the Tamil National Alliance, the National Movement for Peoples Power, the Ahila Ilankai Thamil Congress, the All Ceylon Makkal Congress and the Thamil Makkal Thesiya Kuttani MPs voted against the 20th Amendment in Parliament.