Officers appointed to issue curfew passes

2020-10-22 at 13:18

Deputy Inspector General of Police Ajith Rohana says four senior Police officers have been appointed to oversee the issuance of curfew passes for areas in which curfew has been imposed.

The DIG said several concerns had been raised pertaining to curfew passes and the operation of factories with the imposition of curfew in the Gampaha District and in Colombo North.

He said the Senior Deputy Inspector General of Police of the Western Province accordingly appointed four senior Police officers to engage in coordinating efforts.

He said Senior Superintendent of Police MKRA Gunaratne has been appointed to the Kelaniya Police Division, while ASP Thusitha Kumara has been appointed to the Gampaha Police Division.

Meanwhile SP Palitha Amaratunga has been appointed as the coordinator for the Negombo Police Division and SSP Niranjan Abeywardena has been appointed to coordinate for the Colombo North Police Division.

DIG Ajith Rohana noted the relevant officers can be contacted for inquiries pertaining to weddings and other such matters during curfew.

SSP MKRA Gunaratne – 071-859-1605

ASP Thusitha Kumara – 071-859-1610

SP Palitha Amaratunga – 071-859-1632

SSP Niranjan Abeywardena – 071-859-1574