Gazette listing Ministry subjects issued

2019-12-11 at 07:15

An extraordinary Gazette notification listing the subject purviews of Ministries of the new government has been issued.

The gazette notification details the subjects, functions and duties of 29 Ministers and their respective Ministries.

The Highest number of subjects, functions and duties listed in the Extraordinary Gazette Notification, falls under the purview of Ministries overseen by Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Several subjects, functions and duties fall under the purview of the Ministries of Finance, Economic Affairs and Policy Development headed by the Prime Minister.

Accordingly 48 institutions including the Treasury, Central Bank of Sri Lanka and Sri Lanka Customs and several departments and statutory institutions fall under the purview of Prime Minister Rajapaksa.

Meanwhile 31 departments and statutory institutions have been listed as falling under the purview of the Ministry of Defence, which remains under the Head of State, President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

The least number of institutions fall under the purview of the Ministry of Industrial Export & Investment Promotion.