Mahinda Rajapaksa takes oath as Prime Minister

2019-11-21 at 13:20

Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in as the country’s new Prime Minister this afternoon.

The swearing in ceremony took place at the Presidential Secretariat. Mahinda Rajapaksa took oath as Prime Minister before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena, Former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, and several others were present at the occasion.

Mahinda Rajapaksa has served as Prime Minister twice before, with his first stint between the years 2004 and 2005.