Persons who left curfew areas told to self-isolate

2020-10-31 at 17:08

Self-isolation orders have been issued to 454 persons who left for Bandarawela, Batticaloa, Ampara, Tangalle, Matara, Nuwara-Eliya & Jaffna from curfew-imposed areas earlier this week.

Speaking during a media briefing at the Police Headquarters in Colombo, Acting Police Media Spokesperson Deputy Inspector General of Police Ajith Rohana said the group had left the Western Province and from five police areas in Kuliyapitiya on Wednesday and Thursday by violating quarantine regulations.

He said all persons will have to remain at the same location for 14 days failing which legal action will be taken against such individuals.

DIG Ajith Rohana noted that perpetrators can be punished with a fine of Rs.10,000 and a six-month prison sentence.

He said special checks will take place on Monday at all entry points of the Western province.

DIG Ajith Rohana noted that area health officials will supervise the quarantine procedure.