Curfew currently in 51 police areas

2020-10-24 at 19:56

Quarantine curfew is currently in place within 51 police areas across the island.

Quarantine curfew came into force at 7pm today in the Mulleriyawa and Gothatuwa police areas.

Accordingly, curfew has been imposed to nine police areas in the Colombo district including in Dematagoda, Maradana, Kotahena, Mattakkuliya, Mutwal, Bloemendhal, Wellampitiya and Grandpass.

Curfew has also been imposed across the entire Gampaha district and will remain in place until further notice.

Meanwhile, curfew in the Beruwala, Payagala and Aluthgama police areas in the Kalutara district will be lifted at 5am on Monday the 26th of October.

Curfew has also been imposed to five police areas in the Kurunegala district.

Acting Police Media Spokesman Deputy Inspector General of Police Ajith Rohana said vehicles will not be allowed to make stops in curfew-imposed areas.

However, DIG said essential services will be able to operate unhindered. He also requested the general public in curfew areas to remain indoors.