Ranjan’s Parliament seat vacant; Speaker informs the House

2021-04-07 at 10:39

The Speaker of Parliament Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena today informed the House that Ranjan Ramanayake’s Parliament seat has become vacant.

Speaking at the commencement of the day’s proceedings in the House, the Speaker said after consideration of legal opinion and provisions of the Constitution the Secretary General of Parliament in terms of 64/1 of the Parliament Elections Act No.1 1981 informed the Chairman of the Election Commission that Ranjan Ramanayake, elected from the Gampaha District, ceased to be a Member of Parliament in terms of Article 66D of the Constitution.

Therefore, a vacancy has arisen in the ninth Parliament with the seat of Ranjan Ramanayake falling vacant.

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya obtained four seats from the Gampaha District at the August 5th 2020 General Election.

With the seat of Ranjan Ramanayake falling vacant, Ajith Mannapperuma who came in fifth place from the district, will be eligible to take oath for the vacant seat.

Mannapperuma obtained 47,212 votes at the General Election.

When contacted by NewsRadio former State Minister Mannapperuma said he is prepared to take oath as a Member of Parliament once the gazette notification in this regard is issued by the Election Commission.

Ramanayake was sentenced to a four-year rigorous imprisonment on charges of contempt of Court on the 12th of January, and has not attended Parliament sittings since.

He completes three months since he last attended a Parliament sitting on the 12th of April.

According to Parliament Standing Orders if a Member of Parliament does not attend sittings for three months continuously, his post is declared null and void.