Rauff Hakeem the only SLMC MP in opposition

2020-10-22 at 21:46

Leader of the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress Rauff Hakeem was the only member out of the five SLMC MPs to vote against the 20th Amendment to the Constitution in Parliament today.

He was seen a lone figure in Parliament as the remaining four MPs sided with the government during the vote on the 20th Amendment.

Sri Lanka Muslim Congress Batticaloa district MP Naseer Ahamed and three other SLMC members who contested the recently concluded General Election under the Samagi Jana Balawegaya ticket voted in favour of the new Constitutional Amendment.

Samagi Jana Balawegaya Parliamentarians MS Thowfeek, Mohamad Harees and Faizal Cassim supported the government’s bill in Parliament today.

Meanwhile, the 20th Amendment to the Constitution was ratified in Parliament today with amendments, following the approval of a two thirds majority.

156 Parliamentarians supported the bill during the final vote of the 20th Constitutional Amendment while 65 MPs voted against it.

All constituent parties of the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, including the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, the National Freedom Front, the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya, the Ealam People’s Democratic Party, the Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal, and the National Congress voted in favour of the bill.

Meanwhile, Samagi Jana Balawegaya Parliamentarians Diana Gamage, Ishak Rahuman and Aravind Kumar and AS Raheem of the National Muslim Alliance also voted in favour of the 20th Amendment.

The remaining SJB members, the Tamil National Alliance, the National Movement for Peoples Power, the Ahila Ilankai Thamil Congress, the All Ceylon Makkal Congress and the Thamil Makkal Thesiya Kuttani MPs voted against the 20th Amendment in Parliament.