Remove members who voted for 20A-SJB

2020-10-23 at 17:00

Several Parliamentarians of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya have called for members who voted in favour of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution yesterday to be expelled from the parliamentary group.

In a letter to the General Secretary MP Ranjith Madduma Bandara the group of MPs said stern action must be taken against those who voted in favour.

Speaking at a media briefing MP Madduma Bandara said discussions have commenced to take disciplinary action against the group adding that discussions are underway with legal teams.

The Parliamentarian said more than 27 MPs of the government were due to vote against the 20th Amendment, charging that the government changed their minds through various incentives.

Also speaking at the media briefing Parliamentarian Chaminda Wijesiri said the government created a majority in Parliament to put the country in disarray.

The MP said despite several days lapsing since the conclusion of the General Election, the government teamed up with certain factions they accused of being terrorists and extremists, in order to protect posts and powers.