Muslim MPs sworn in to previous portfolios

2019-07-29 at 20:37

Four Muslim Parliamentarians who stepped down from their Ministerial portfolios have been sworn in to their previous posts once again.

Accordingly, MPs Rauff Hakeem, Rishad Bathiudeen, Ameer Ali and Abdullah Maharoof were sworn-in to previously held Ministerial portfolios.

The group took oath before this evening before President Maithripala Sirisena at the President’s official residence this evening.

Accordingly Rauff Hakeem was sworn-in as Minister of City Planning, Water Supply and Higher Education while Rishad Bathiudeen took oath as Minister of Industry and Commerce, Resettlement of Protracted Displaced Persons and Co-operative Development.

Ameer Ali was sworn-in as State Minister of Agriculture, Irrigation and Rural Economic Affairs.

Abdullah Maharoof took oath as Deputy Minister of Ports and Shipping.

Meanwhile Buddhika Pathirana, who previously held the post of a Deputy Minister, was sworn-in as State Minister of Industry and Commerce, Resettlement of Protracted Displaced Persons, Co-operative Development and Vocational Training.

Speaking to media after the swearing in ceremonies, MP Faizal Cassim said three other Muslim MPs will take oath in the near future.

All Muslim Ministers, State and Deputy Ministers stepped down from their respective posts on the 3rd of June.

They resigned citing their decision to support Defence Forces to carry out investigations over the Easter Sunday attacks expeditiously and transparently.

The group called on all parties to ensure the safety of all citizens including the Muslim community while safeguarding the country’s image before the global community.