Six SJB MPs vote for 20A

2020-10-22 at 21:40

Six Parliamentarians of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya voted in favour of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution in Parliament today.

NewsRadio lobby correspondent said SJB national list Parliamentarian Diana Gamage and MPs MS Thowfeek, Mohamad Harees, Ishak Rahuman, Aravind Kumar and Faizal Cassim voted in favour of the Constitutional Amendment.

Sri Lanka Muslim Congress Batticaloa district MP Naseer Ahamed and AS Raheem of the National Muslim Alliance also supported the bill in Parliament.

Meanwhile, the 20th Amendment to the Constitution was ratified in Parliament today with amendments, following the approval of a two thirds majority.

156 Parliamentarians supported the bill during the final vote of the 20th Constitutional Amendment while 65 MPs voted against it.

All constituent parties of the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, including the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, the National Freedom Front, the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya, the Ealam People’s Democratic Party, the Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal, and the National Congress voted in favour of the bill.

The remaining SJB members, the Tamil National Alliance, the National Movement for Peoples Power, the Ahila Ilankai Thamil Congress, the All Ceylon Makkal Congress and the Thamil Makkal Thesiya Kuttani MPs voted against the 20th Amendment in Parliament.