SJB to appoint 4-member committee over 20A

2020-10-20 at 13:31

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya has appointed a four-member committee to study future measures pertaining to the proposed 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

SJB National Organizer Parliamentarian Tissa Attanayake said the committee is tasked with looking into the determinations of the Supreme Court and amendments proposed by the government in this regard, once notified by the Speaker, and report to the party’s Parliamentary Group.

MP Attanayake noted the committee comprises MPs Patali Champika Ranawaka, Eran Wickramaratne, Harsha De Silva and Mujibur Rahuman.

MP Tissa Attanayake further stated the SJB Parliamentary group is due to convene this evening and reach a final decision pertaining to the matter.

Joining the media briefing MP Manusha Nanayakkara said the government will not cease efforts to enact the 20th Amendment, despite objections from various factions including the Maha Sangha.

The Parliamentarian likened the proposed 20th Amendment to a plain cake, that the government has now added icing to, in order to make it appealing to the public.