SJB to expel MP’s who voted for 20A

2020-10-24 at 08:35

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya has reached a decision to expel Parliamentarians from the Parliamentary Group, who contested the General Election under the ticket of the SJB, yet cast their vote in favour of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

Issuing a statement the SJB said disciplinary action will also be taken against the group of MPs.

The decision was reached at a Samagi Jana Balawegaya Parliamentary Group meeting held last evening at the Parliamentary complex.

A decision was also reached to inform the Speaker of House to allocate new seats to the group in Parliament.

Meanwhile General Secretary of the SJB MP Ranjith Madduma Bandara in a statement said a decision was reached to conduct an island wide promotional programme for the party when the coronavirus situation in the country is contained.