Sri Lanka’s Parliament prorogued till January

2019-12-03 at 02:35

The eighth Parliament has been prorogued until January 2020.

Parliament was prorogued from midnight following the issuance of a Presidential proclamation.

The extraordinary gazette notification states that the President prorogued Parliament by virtue of powers vested in him under Article 70 of the Constitution.

The fourth session of the eighth Parliament will convene once again on the 3rd of January 2020 at 10am.

The first Parliament sitting following the conduct of the 2019 Presidential Election was due to take place today.