Tax Appeals Commission back in operation

2018-11-08 at 19:19

The Tax Appeals Commission has been revived under the United People’s Freedom Alliance government.

A statement issued on the letterhead of the Ministry of Finance said, Mahinda Rajapaksa who was appointed the Finance Minister, appointed Hector Yapa as Chairman, attorney Sunil Rajapakse and Former Auditor General S Swarnajothi as members of the Commission.

The Commission was established under the Tax Appeals Commission Act No.23 of 2011, to facilitate an expeditious resolution of disputes that may arise between the tax payer and the Commissioner General of Inland Revenue or the Director-General of Customs due to a determination on the imposition of any Tax, Levy, Charge, Duty or Penalty.

The statement said aggrieved parties can appeal to the Commission and the having conducted hearings, the Commission will deliver its determination either confirming, reducing, or amending the original determination by the CGIR or the DGC.

The statement noted at present 264 appeals remain, pending and is expected that they will be resolved with the revival of the Tax Appeals Commission.