TPA rejects request to support govt led by MS

2018-11-07 at 12:56

The leader of the Tamil Progressive Alliance Parliamentarian Mano Ganesan says he rejected a request to support the government led by President Maithripala Sirisena.

In a Tweet MP Ganesan said all six Parliamentarians representing the Tamil Progressive Alliance met with the President and explained their stance.

MP Mano Ganesan’s Tweet read “As a civilized political entity, we as Tamil Progressive Alliance team of all Six MPs met President @MaithripalaS and told him that we can’t accept his invitation to join his government”.

Previously the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress and the All Ceylon Makkal Congress rejected claims stating they pledged their support to factions representing the recently appointed Cabinet of Ministers.

SLMC Party Leader Rauf Hakeem speaking during a discussion in Batticaloa yesterday stated no decisions have been reached to support Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Taking to Twitter Hakeem also said the party remains of the stance that the appointment of a new Prime Minister is illegal.

Meanwhile the Leader of the All Ceylon Makkal Congress representing the United National Front, Parliamentarian Rishad Bathiudeen said the decision to support democracy has not changed under any circumstance.

Speaking to NewsRadio MP Bathiudeen said no matter what privileges the United Peoples Freedom Alliance led government promises to provide his stance would not falter.