UNP to reveal its National List member today

2020-08-14 at 06:00

Legal Secretary of the United National Party attorney Nissanka Nanayakkara says the UNP will inform the Election Commission of its National List representative to Parliament today.

Nanayakkara speaking to NewsRadio said discussions have been held with party leader former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and a final decision has been reached on the individual who will be elected to Parliament from the United National Party.

The Working Committee of the United National Party is due to convene at 9:30 this morning.

The Working Committee is also expected to discuss the UNP leadership including the National List seat.

Meanwhile a senior official of the Election Commission when contacted by NewsRadio said following the submission of the UNP National List representative today, the gazette notification containing the names of National List Parliamentarians will be issued.

19 names of National List MPs, which include 17 members of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, two representatives of the Ilangai Tamil Arasu Kachchi and one from the Akila Ilankai Thamil Congress, have thus far been gazetted.

Furthermore, the National List representative of the Our Power of People Party will be delayed further owing to legal concerns that have arisen within the party.

The Election Commission informed all parties that secured National List seats to submit their nominees by today.