10 national cricketers opt out of PAK tour

2019-09-09 at 20:10

Ten national cricketers including One Day International skipper Dimuth Karunaratne and Twenty20 captain Lasith Malinga opted out of touring Pakistan later this month.

Sri Lanka Cricket today held a meeting with the players chosen to be part of the preliminary squad to select the team that is due to tour Pakistan to play 3 ODIs and 3 T20I matches, starting from 27th September to 09th October.

Accordingly, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Janith Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhananjaya, Angelo Mathews, Suranga Lakmal and Dinesh Chandimal also opted out of the series.

Kusal Mendis was not available for selection due to an injury he suffered during the New Zealand Series.

SLC in a statement said the meeting was aimed at informing the players of the security arrangements, during the forthcoming tour and also to determine their ‘decision’ before Selectors sit for the selection process for the ODI and T20 series.

The Chief Security Advisor of the SLC Former Sri Lanka Air Force Commander, Marshal Air Roshan Goonetileke, briefed the players of the security situation in Pakistan and the security arrangements the Pakistan Cricket Board plans on implementing during the tour.

Chairman of the National Selection Panel Asantha De Mel said players will be given the freedom to decide on either taking part or not in the forthcoming Pakistan tour.