Heavyweights disqualified from returning to SLC

2019-02-09 at 05:29

The nominations filed by former Sri Lanka Cricket President Mohan Silva and former Assistant Secretary Ravin Wickramaratne have been rejected by the Appeals Committee appointed to ratify SLC election nominations.

The Ministry of Sports said after considering the objections, the Committee appointed by the Sports Minister has disqualified Mohan Silva and Ravin Wickramaratne from contesting the election.

Appeals against six names, including against Mohan Silva and Ravin Wickramaratne, were filed after the conclusion of the nomination period. A special committee chaired by Retired Supreme Court Judge Nimal Dissanayake was appointed to ratify the nominations.

The Sports Ministry in a statement said the committee report was handed over to Minister Harin Fernando on Wednesday. Accordingly, following determinations by the Attorney General, the nominations were finalised for the SLC election.

The Sri Lanka Cricket Election is slated for 21st of February with Jayantha Dharmadasa and Shammi Silva competing for the Presidency.

Please follow and like us: