ICC reveals official Team of the Tournament

2019-07-16 at 07:00

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson has been named captain of the ICC’s official Team of the Tournament for the 2019 World Cup, alongside four members of the victorious England side.

Williamson, who had already been named Player of the Tournament, leads a side that includes teammate Lockie Ferguson and four England players – Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer – who won the title in a remarkable finish at Lord’s on Sunday.

Australia is represented by paceman Mitchell Starc and wicketkeeper Alex Carey, while India also has two representatives, opener Rohit Sharma and star quick Jasprit Bumrah.

Bangladesh’s star allrounder Shakib Al Hasan rounds out the XI. The side was picked by a five-person committee comprising commentators and former players.

Six of the tournament’s top-10 run-scorers made the side, with David Warner missing the cut despite finishing just two runs short of being the leading run-scorer in the tournament.

Warner scored 647 runs at 72 and a strike rate of 89 in the tournament, including three centuries.

Jonny Bairstow (532 runs at 48), Aaron Finch (507 runs at 51) and Babar Azam (474 runs at 68) were the other top scorers to miss out.

Four of the top five wicket-takers were included, the exception being Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman (20 wickets at 24).