India name World Cup squad

2019-04-15 at 15:25

India became the third team, after New Zealand and Australia, to name their squad for the upcoming World Cup in England on Monday.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s senior selection committee named India’s squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Virat Kohli will lead the Indian team who will be looking for their third world cup title and Rohit Sharma has been named as his deputy.

Selectors have included KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja and Dinesh Karthik and left out Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant.

Meanwhile, 11-12 places were already decided, featuring the core of the Indian team. This will be the third world cup participation for Kohli and MS Dhoni. While second world cup for players like Rohit, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, and Ambati Rayudu. Rest of the players apparently will feature for the first time in the world cup.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is scheduled to begin on May 30 in England and Wales. India after landing in England will take on New Zealand at The Oval in London on May 25 in their first warm-up fixture.

On May 28, India will face Bangladesh in their second warm-up fixture at the Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff.

India then begins their ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 campaign on June 05 against South Africa at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton. The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will have a round-robin format and all participating teams will face against each other once.

Top four teams will then proceed to semifinals. India is scheduled to take on arch-rivals Pakistan on June 16 at the Old Trafford in Manchester. India’s round-robin matches concluded on July 06 with an encounter against Sri Lanka at Headingley, Leeds.

The semifinals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will be held on July 09 and 11 at Manchester and Birmingham respectively. The final of the world cup will take place on July 14 at the historic Lord’s London.

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik