Lasith Malinga & 3 others return to face Australia

2019-10-17 at 19:00

Limited-overs skipper Lasith Malinga is among four players who have now returned to the Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series in Australia, starting October 27.

Sri Lanka Cricket named a 16-man squad that will leave the island on Sunday.

Malinga, wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella and bastman Kusal Perera were among the 10 players that pulled out of the recent tour of Pakistan owing to security concerns.

The tour of Australia will also see the return of Kusal Mendis.

The four players came in place of Angelo Perera, Lahiru Madushanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama and Minod Bhanuka, who were part of the squad that won the series at the home of the incumbent No.1 T20I team in the world – Pakistan.

27-year-old Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who scored 48-ball 77 and Wanindu Hasaranga, who finished on top of the wicket-takers list in Pakistan, have held onto their places for the tour of Australia.

The series kicks off in Adelaide, before shifting to the Gabba in Brisbane on October 30 and then to the MCG in Melbourne on November 1.

Full T20I Squad:

01) Lasith Malinga – Captain

02) Kusal Janith Perera

03) Kusal Mendis

04) Danushka Gunathilaka

05) Avishka Fernando

06) Niroshan Dickwella

07) Dasun Shanaka

08) Shehan Jayasuriya

09) Bhanuka Rajapaksa

10) Oshada Fernando

11) Wanindu Hasaranga

12) Lakshan Sandakan

13) Nuwan Pradeep

14) Lahiru Kumara

15) Isuru Udana

16) Kasun Rajitha