Nuwan Pradeep & Lahiru Kumara picked for NZ Tests

2018-11-30 at 14:17

Sri Lanka has welcomed back fast bowlers Nuwan Pradeep and Lahiru Kumara, who were included in a 17-member squad for the forthcoming Test series against New Zealand.

The Selection Committee also picked the pair of Lahiru Thirimanne and keeper-batsman Sadeera Samarawickrama, who last represented Sri Lanka against India in November 2017.

Pradeep’s return will significantly boost Sri Lanka’s pace ranks after he enjoyed successful tours of South Africa and the UAE in the last two years.

Pradeep has been plagued by hamstring injuries, which has reduced his national team participation to just the limited-overs games.

Meanwhile, 21-year-old Kumara, who impressed on the tour of the Caribbean and in the warm-up fixture against England, returns after being axed from the squad to face England for breaking team curfew two days before the Galle Test.

Dinesh Chandimal, returns to skipper the side after missing the last two Tests against England with a groin strain, while Malinda Pushpakumara has been left out and pacer Dushmantha Chameera held on to his spot.

Batsman Kaushal Silva, who was recalled ahead of the England Tests, has been left out of the touring contingent after aggregating a modest 41 runs in four innings in Galle and Pallekele.

Sri Lanka will play two Tests, in Wellington and Christchurch, with the first of the two games beginning on December 15.

The Test series will be followed by a short limited-overs assignment comprising three ODIs and a solitary T20I.

The full squad includes
Dinesh Chandimal
Dimuth Karunaratne
Kusal Mendis
Dhananjaya De Silva
Angelo Mathews
Roshen Silva
Niroshan Dickwella
Danushka Gunathilaka
Lahiru Thirimanne
Sadeera Samarawickrama
Dilruwan Perera
Lakshan Sandakan
Suranga Lakmal
Nuwan Pradeep
Kasun Rajitha
Lahiru Kumara
Dushmantha Chameera

Please follow and like us: