Shashikala Siriwardena named captain for Aussie ODI series

2019-09-21 at 10:00

Shashikala Siriwardena has been named captain of the 15-member one-day international for Sri Lanka Women’s tour of Australia, while Chamari Atapattu will retain T20 captaincy.

Sri Lanka have named identical T20 and ODI squads for their upcoming tour of Australia, which gets underway on the 29th September.

The big surprise is that Siriwardena will take over captaincy from Atapattu for the three ICC Women’s Championship ODIs, even though Atapattu retains her place in the side.

Meanwhile, 33-year-old Yashoda Mendis, who last represented Sri Lanka in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, has been recalled to both squads.

Ama Kanchana too is in line to make a comeback after missing the away series against South Africa and the home series against England.

The teams will engage in three T20Is between 29 September and 2 October at the North Sydney Oval, before moving to Brisbane for the three ODIs at the Allan Border Field.