SLvENG: Sri Lanka bowl first in Dambulla

2018-10-10 at 14:12

Newly appointed Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and elected to field first against England during the opening game of the five-match series played at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

Chandimal at the toss said, the team will attempt to capitalise on the moisture in the pitch to take some early wickets.

Sri Lanka opted for a two-pace two spin attack along with two all-rounders in the playing XI.

Upul Tharanga and Niroshan Dickwella are set to open the innings with Kusal Perera as the designated number three.

Skipper Chandimal and Dhananjaya De Silva will provide middle order solidarity while all-rounders Dasun Shanaka and Thisara Perera are expected to increase the scoring rate later on.

Experienced Lasith Malinga and Nuwan Pradeep will open the bowling with Akila Dhananjaya and Lakshan Sandakan as designated spinners.

Please follow and like us: