South Africa names 15 man World Cup squad

2019-04-18 at 18:46

South Africa kept their faith in the experienced Hashim Amla, naming him in their 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019.

Amla has struggled for form lately, with the last year of his career plagued by inconsistency.

Amla’s inclusion meant there was no room for the promising Reeza Hendricks.

With Amla in the mix, South Africa has three solid opening options in him, Aiden Markram and Quinton de Kock. De Kock has been in splendid form while De Kock will likely lock down one of the opening slots.

Captain Faf du Plessis will also have a lot of pace options to choose from, with all of Kagiso Rabada, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lungi Ngidi, Dale Steyn, Anrich Nortje and Dwaine Pretorius having been included.

JP Duminy, who is recovering from shoulder surgery, has also been picked.

The spin department will be headed by wrist-spinner Imran Tahir.

South Africa can also fall back on Tabraiz Shamsi if they need a back-up or an ally to Tahir, while Duminy is an experienced part-timer with his off-spin.

Rassie van der Dussen is reaping the benefits of a bright start to his international career and will hope to continue milking runs at the World Cup.

David Miller offers fire-power to the batting unit, and doubles up as a wicket-keeper should the need arise.

Pretorius and Andile Phehlukwayo offer all-round options alongside Duminy.

South Africa kick off the 2019 World Cup against the tournament hosts England at The Oval in London on 30 May.