Dinesh Chandimal returns to the Test squad

2019-08-07 at 15:52

A 22-man national Test squad has been announced by the National Selection Panel to take on the visiting New Zealand side in a two-match series.

Opener Dimuth Karunaratne has been retained as the Captain of the National Test side.

The series opener is slated to get underway on Wednesday.

Sri Lanka Cricket in a statement said the final 15-member squad will be announced after the conclusion of the three-day practice match.

The Sports Minister ratified squad includes several senior players including the likes of Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne and Suranga Lakmal.

The National selectors have also opted for the services of several youngsters including Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Lasith Embuldeniya, Chamika Karunaratne and Asitha Fernando.

The National team is slated to play two test matches and three Twenty20 Internationals against the visiting Kiwi outfit.

Full statement:

1. Dimuth Karunaratne – Captain
2. Angelo Mathews
3. Dinesh Chandimal
4. Lahiru Thirimanne
5. Kusal Mendis
6. Kusal Janith Perera
7. Niroshan Dickwella
8. Dhananjaya De Silva
9. Angelo Perera
10. Oshada Fernando
11. Danushka Gunathilaka
12. Shehan Jayasuriya
13. Chamika Karunaratne
14. Dilruwan Perera
15. Akila Dananjaya
16. Lasith Embuldeniya
17. Lakshan Sandakan
18. Suranga Lakmal
19. Lahiru Kumara
20. Vishwa Fernando
21. Kasun Rajitha
22. Asitha Fernando